Elaine Stewart, Wunderkamer.

wun·der·kam·mer

/ˈvo͝ondərˌkämər

The wheelchair is a visual statement of disability to most people.

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 11.28.21 AM

It creates a readily accessible medical model of disability for observers. For myself, the user of the device, it provides a functional solution to a problem, it lets me be mobile.

I began creating images of wheelchairs a few years ago.

One way I used it was as a foundation for building small assemblages.  I could bend and shape the realities of these imaginary objects in ways that I can not do with my mobility device.  It opens a door to possibility. It allows me a voice.

In this intimate Wunderkammer  the wheelchair becomes my subject of exploration. Here in the curiosity cabinet  are several small rooms, each has different wheelchairs, each is a small theatre. Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 11.28.04 AM

It is not the inaccessible world of unending hours invested in planning for mobility, of continuous mechanical failures, of the desexing of the rider, of the wet blanket of the perception of disability that shrouds us and begs to be ripped off.

Leave a Reply

